SERMONS

What is it that God wants us to know and do? and why? These are the questions we hope to address each and every Sunday.

THE MESSAGES PREACHED AT HOPE

The Messages preached at Hope are Bible based, Holy Spirit inspired, humanly applied teachings that help us navigate life in Christ but situated in the world. Bible-based in that each message is based on a text or two of the Holy Bible, and are congruent with the over-arching message of the Bible. Holy Spirit inspired in that the Holy Spirit wishes to speak to each and every one of us regardless of life circumstances. Humanly applied in that each message attempts to inform us on how to respond to the words from God.

Watch all sermons

Why Attend Church?

Pastor Peter Slofstra
Sunday, October 18, 2020

Pastor Peter shares a message on the role each of us plays in the the church

The Antidote to Anxiety

Pastor Nicole McLeod
Sunday, October 11, 2020

Pastor Nicole shares a sermon on anxiety in the times of COVID

Feeding the 5,000

Kevin Makins
Sunday, October 4, 2020

Kevin Makins, pastor at Eucharist Church in Hamilton, joins us to share a message bringing what we have to God

Where to Find Safety

Pastor Peter Slofstra
Sunday, September 27, 2020

Pastor Peter shares a sermon on Safety, in the church and in the world

Body Parts

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, September 20, 2020

Pastor Brian shares a message about the many parts that make up the church

We Need Each Other

Pastor Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, September 13, 2020

Pastor Nicole kicks off our Week of Prayer and Fasting with a sermon on community

Challenging Times

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, September 6, 2020

Pastor Brian shares a sermon on a biblical response to challenging times

The Red Chair: The People of Hope

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, August 30, 2020

Pastor Dale concludes our Red Chair series with a sermon on the name Hope Fellowship Church and the people of Hope

The Red Chair: Three Lessons from Ten Lepers

Steve Kooy
Sunday, August 23, 2020

Steve Kooy, chaplin at Queen's University, shares a message from Luke

The Red Chair: Grief and Hope

Pastor Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, August 16, 2020

Pastor Nicole continues our Red Chair series focusing on our response to the many losses we're experiencing at Hope and with COVID

The Red Chair: Next Gen - Theological Inferences

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, August 9, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Red Chair series with the second 'Next Gen' message

The Red Chair: Next Gen - Cultural

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, August 2, 2020

Pastor Dale brings message 4 in our The Red Chair series

The Red Chair: Defining Moments

Dylan Harper
Sunday, July 26, 2020

Dylan shares the next sermon in our The Red Chair series

The Red Chair: Choose Now

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, July 19, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Red Chair series by focusing on how we choose to move forward into the future

The Red Chair: I See You

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, July 12, 2020

Pastor Dale share the first sermon in our Red Chair series on I See You

Running: The Story of Jonah - Running Against the Wind

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, July 5, 2020

Pastor Dale concludes our Jonah series by looking at Jonah's efforts to run against God

Running: The Story of Jonah - Running With God

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, June 28, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Jonah series by focusing on Jonah sharing God's message to Ninevah

Breathe: A Service of Lament and Hope

Various
Sunday, June 21, 2020

A combined service of area churches to lament the struggles we have in the midst of COVID-19 and racial tensions.

Running: The Story of Jonah - Running to God

Pastor Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, June 14, 2020

Pastor Nicole continues our Jonah series focusing on Jonah's call to God from the belly of the fish

Running: The Story of Jonah - Running Away

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, June 7, 2020

Pastor Dale launches our new series on Jonah starting with Running Away

Wonder: Eyes to See: Being Jesus to a World In Need

Dylan Harper
Sunday, May 31, 2020

Dylan completes our Eyes to See series with a message incorporating this year's HSM theme, Wonder.

Eyes to See: Seeing the World

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, May 24, 2020

Pastor Brian continues our Eyes to See series with some support from Compassion Canada

Eyes to See: Seeing Others

Sheila Dykstra
Sunday, May 17, 2020

Sheila shares a sermon on seeing others, the next in our series

Eyes to See: Seeing God

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, May 10, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Eyes to See series with a sermon on Seeing God.

Eyes to See: Seeing Ourselves

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, May 3, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Eyes to See series with a sermon on how we see ourselves

Eyes to See: Ten Thousand Foot View

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, April 26, 2020

Pastor Dale begins our Eyes to See series by highlighting God's view of our world.

Live Like You're Loved

Pastor Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, April 19, 2020

Pastor Nicole shares a sermon for GEMS Sunday focusing on their theme of Loved.

Resurrected Bones: Easter Sunday

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, April 12, 2020

Pastor Dale shares an Easter Sunday message in the midst of a pandemic

Preparing the Way

Dylan Harper
Sunday, April 5, 2020

Dylan shares a message on preparation for Palm Sunday

Miracles in a Time of Distress

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, March 29, 2020

Pastor Dale shares a message regarding miracles and concludes with a time of anointing with oil

Not Of This World

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, March 22, 2020

Pastor Dale shares a message to help guide us in our response to COVID-19

Prayer Series: Embrace & Live Out

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, March 15, 2020

Pastor Brian continues our Prayer For series focusing on loving with all our Strength

Prayer Series: Loving Neighbours with Mind - Philoxenia

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, March 8, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Praying For series by focusing on praying for the stranger.

Praying For Other: Love Neighbours

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, March 1, 2020

Pastor Dale begins our Praying For series with a sermon on our neighbours

Prayer Series: Doing Work Well

Pastor Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, February 23, 2020

Pastor Nicole continues our Praying With series by focusing on our approach to work

Prayer Series: Doing School Well: School of Discipleship

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, February 16, 2020

Pastor Dale shares the next message in our Praying With series and is joined by Principal Paul Marcus from Knox Christian School

Prayer Series: Doing the World Well

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, February 9, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Praying With series with a sermon on our relationship with the World.

Prayer Series: Doing Church Well

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, February 2, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Praying With series with a sermon on the church and our role in it.

Prayer Series: Doing Community Well

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, January 26, 2020

Pastor Brian continues our Praying With series with a sermon on Community for Cadet Sunday

Prayer Series: Family Matters

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, January 19, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Praying With series with a sermon on doing family well. Due to technical challenges, full video is not available

Prayer Series: Marriage Well

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, January 12, 2020

Pastor Dale continues our Praying With series with a sermon on doing Marriage Well.

Prayer Series: Living Well

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, January 5, 2020

Pastor Dale begins the second phase of our Prayer Series, Praying With Each Other with a sermon focused on Living Well.

Promises, Promises: Success to Surrender

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, December 29, 2019

Pastor Brian finishes up our Promises, Promises series with a sermon on II Samuel

Promises, Promises

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Pastor Dale's Christmas Eve message

Promises, Promises: Covenant Promises

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, December 22, 2019

Pastor Dale completes our Advent series with a sermon on God's covenant promises

Promises, Promises: Baptismal Promises

Pastor Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, December 8, 2019

Pastor Nicole continues our Advent series with a sermon on Noah and the promises God made both then and now.

Promises, Promises: Judgment Promises

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, December 1, 2019

Pastor Dale begins our Advent series with a sermon on Judgment Promises

Prayer Series: Hmm... (Spiritual Warfare)

Rev. Bruce McCallum
Sunday, November 24, 2019

Rev. Bruce concludes our prayer series with a look at Spiritual Warfare and Praying in Tongues

Prayer Series: Protect Me

Dylan Harper
Sunday, November 17, 2019

Dylan continues our series with a sermon on "deliver us from evil" and calling on God's protection.

Prayer Series: I'm Listening

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, November 10, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our Prayer series with a message on listening to God

Prayer Series: I Love You!

Rev. Elizabeth (Lisa) Guillaume-Koene
Sunday, November 3, 2019

Rev. Lisa continues our Prayer Series with a message on "On Earth as is it in Heaven"

Prayer Series: Why?

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, October 27, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our Prayer series with a sermon on "Your will be done"

Prayer Series: Help!

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, October 20, 2019

Pastor Brian continues our Prayer Series on Thy Kingdom Come

Prayer Series: Thank You!

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, October 13, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our Prayer Series by focusing on the words "Give us this day..."

Prayer Series: WOW

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, October 6, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our Prayer sermon series with a sermon on Adoration

Abuse of Power: The Story of David & Bathsheba

Pastor Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, September 29, 2019

Pastor Nicole shares the next message in our Prayer series focusing on Confession.

Vision Sunday: Grace & Prayer

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, September 22, 2019

Pastor Dale launches our Prayer Series by outlining how prayer is reflected in the life of Hope Fellowship

Rev Up Sunday: Equippers and Doers

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, September 15, 2019

Pastor Dale launches our ministry season with a sermon on the different roles in the church

Gifted Live - Fruitful Lives

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, September 8, 2019

Pastor Dale kicks off our ministry year with a sermon encouraging us to live our lives for God

More or Less

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, September 1, 2019

Pastor Brian shares an update on the Hope for Dominican's summer 2019 trip.

ROAR: Life is Wild - Great Expectations

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, August 25, 2019

Pastor Dale concludes our ROAR VBS series with a sermon on God's goodness when life is wild

ROAR: God is Good! When God is Good

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, August 18, 2019

Pastor Dale shares the next message in our God is Good series

ROAR: God is Good! When Life is Sad

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, August 11, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our ROAR series with a sermon on God's goodness when we experience sadness

ROAR: God is Good! When Life Changes

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, August 4, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our ROAR series by highlighting how God is Good even when life changes

ROAR: God is Good! Life is Scary

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, July 28, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our summer series with a sermon on how God is good even when life is scary (video is not available)

ROAR: God is Good! Life is Unfair

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, July 21, 2019

Pastor Dale begins our summer ROAR series on God's goodness when life is unfair (video is unavailable)

God is Good!

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, July 14, 2019

Pastor Brian wraps up our VBS week with a sermon on Psalm 100

God is Good

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, July 7, 2019

Pastor Brian shares a message on Psalm 105. Video for this sermon is not available.

Her Story: The Samaritan Woman!

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, June 23, 2019

Pastor Dale shares the final sermon in our Her Story series on the Samaritan woman at the well.

Her Story: The Canaanite Woman!

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, June 16, 2019

Pastor Dale shares the next message in our Herstory series

Her Story: The Journey!

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, June 9, 2019

Pastor Dale shares a message about the Church, Christ's bride, on the occasion of our 20th anniversary

Her Story: Living Generously: A Widow Mite Surprise You!

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, June 2, 2019

Pastor Brian shares a message in our Her Story series on the Widow and her gift.

Her Story: This Lady is Not for Stoning!

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, May 26, 2019

Pastor Dale begins our Her Story series with a sermon about Compassion and Condemnation.

Jesus Followers: Nicodemus

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, May 19, 2019

Pastor Dale finishes off our Jesus Followers series with a sermon on Nicodemus

Created for Community

Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, May 12, 2019

Nicole shares a sermon on Community based on Genesis 2

Six Words

Dylan Harper
Sunday, May 5, 2019

Dylan shares a message for HSM Sunday

Stewards

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, April 28, 2019

Pastor Dale brings us a sermon on stewardship - and ice cream!

Jesus Followers: Open Eyes

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, April 21, 2019

We celebrate Easter Sunday with the last sermon in our Jesus Followers series.

Jesus Followers: Martha

Rev. Elizabeth Guillaume-Koene
Sunday, April 14, 2019

Rev. Lisa shares a sermon on Martha, the next in our Jesus Followers series. The video will hopefully be posted shortly. Visit sermons.hopefellowship.ca for the audio file.

Jesus Followers: Zacchaeus

Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, April 7, 2019

Nicole brings us the next sermon in our Jesus Followers series with the help of the GEMS.

Jesus Followers: Matthew

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, March 31, 2019

Pastor Brian teaches us about a Jesus follower with some help from Queens University

Jesus Followers: The Ethiopian

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, March 24, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our Jesus Followers series with a sermon about The Ethiopian's encounter with Philip

Jesus Followers: Andrew

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, March 17, 2019

Pastor Dale continues our Jesus Followers series with a message about Andrew

Jesus Followers: Paul and a Pin

Dylan Harper
Sunday, March 10, 2019

Dylan continues our Jesus Followers series with a message about Paul

Jesus Followers: Costly Demonstration

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, March 3, 2019

We begin our Lent series on Jesus Followers who will point us to Jesus.

Generosity

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, February 24, 2019

Pastor Dale shares a message on generosity like you've never heard it before!

Who Needs Christ?

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, February 17, 2019

Pastor Dale brings us a message about our need for Christ

Created for This

Pastor Brian Bylsma
Sunday, February 10, 2019

Pastor Brian brings us a message on the occasion of his ordination as a Commissioned Pastor at Hope Fellowship

Where are You, God?

Nicole Veenkamp
Sunday, February 3, 2019

Nicole shares a message on the evils in our world today, including human trafficking, and how we can still look for God's compassion.

Cadet Sunday: Be a Blessing

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, January 27, 2019

Pastor Dale shares a message for the Cadets but we're invited to listen in as well.

Community on the Level

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, January 20, 2019

Pastor Dale shares a sermon on living in Community with others.

What's in Your Harbour?

Melissa Rypstra
Sunday, January 13, 2019

Melissa brings a message based on Proverbs 4 and together we will discover what's in our harbour.

Vision Sunday: Lambs or Wolves?

Pastor Dale Melenberg
Sunday, January 6, 2019

Pastor Dale casts a vision for 2019. Video from Sustainable Human (www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysa5OBhXz-Q)